In the Beginning (LP)


   The songs on the album "In the Beginning" were recorded in his first Nashville recording sessions in 1966, pre-dating the release of "For the Sake of the Song" by two years. Eight of these ten songs was recorded with Van Zandt playing solo on his guitar. All of them are quite revealing, not just for the obvious lyric and melody reasons, but for his guitar playing abilities. The blues are as present Van Zandt's tunes as folk and country were. Check the set’s opening track “Black Widow’s Blues,” one of two songs recorded with a full backing band; the other is the stellar “Hunger Child Blues". Released on 180-gram vinyl by TVZ Records. Also available on CD.

Track list..

1. Black Widow Blues 

2. Maryetta's Song 
3. Hunger Child Blues 
4. Gypsy Friday 
5. Waitin' for the Day 
6. Black Jack Mama 
7. When Your Dream Lovers Die 
8. Colorado Bound 
9. Big Country Blues 
10. Black Crow Blues 

Related products